Arrival to Santa Fe

This morning, arriving home to rest breakfast, I found on my table a ticket. I had seen it yesterday when my girlfriend and I shared our first meal together at home since I left. The ticket was dated may 29th, and was for a Burger King whopper with fries. That was my last meal, what I chose because it was tasty, quick and nothing would remain. The next morning I woke up early. It was cold and rainy. Of course the sky was crying! I wasn’t sad or happy. I did not feel in the mood for either emotion and I was in a bit of a hurry. My girlfriend was on her way. She’d got up early and rode the subways and the buses hurrying to get to my house. I called a taxi. The taxi was late and my girlfriend was waiting at the gate of the building complex where I live. I hate these situations. I was getting quite upset. Then the taxi arrived and we headed to the hospital. It must have taken 30 minutes on the new toll highway. We arrived and did the admission paperwork. A lady took us to a cold room and we were left there to wait. The room had a hospital bed, the outlets for power and oxygen, light furniture and a small bathroom. The window showed a cloudy and sad day outside. Back in April little did I imagine I would be there, and months before I never imagined any hospital stays in my near future. This is a story about life, about lessons of love and about living with a good attitude when life kicks you in the face. This story begins before I was born and reaches the present years in a quest to find happiness. This is a story in which our hero finds happiness, only to see it’s very foundations shaken from the root, and then is held up from a disastrous fall by true giants.

Leave a Reply

